CRM Developer Tools in Visual Studio 2015

It seems CRM Developer Tools are not getting much love from Microsoft lately.

The versions available for CRM 2013 where only for VS2013 and V2012 It’s not been release as part in CRM 2015 SDK yet.

…and VS 2015 is just around the corner…

But there is always a way, ;)…

There are known work arounds (e.g.: Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 Toolkit with Visual Studio 2013) to make this work on VS2013 but I found none so far to deal with VS2015.

After looking around and doing some tests I found a MVW (Minimum Viable Workaround, ;)) to make this work. 3 simple steps should do it, as per below:

  • Add the below to devenv.exe.config

  • Install Microsoft.CrmDeveloperToolsVS2015.vsix (my own version with just a view tweaks considering the workaround for VS2013, as per blog linked above)

  • Copy the contents of “CRM MSBuild.zip” to “C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\CRM” (if folder path does not exist create it:

Disclaimer:

  • Needless to say that this a completely unsupported workaround, do it at your own risk.
  • This was done on the Current VS2015 RC1 (Release Candidate), it might not work on former of future releases.

14 thoughts on “CRM Developer Tools in Visual Studio 2015

  1. Works – brilliant!

    I had a few copies of devenv.exe.config on my machine.
    The one that needs editing is at:
    “C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe.config”

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hi,
    this worked really nice till few days ago. Now I’d need to install it on another PC but can’t download anything from onedrive? Is the content removed?
    br,
    Nikica

    Like

  3. I seem to have had an issue with onedrive, where quite a few files just disappeared. I don’t have the backups with me but should be able to repair the links next week, sorry about that.

    Like

  4. RM says:

    Hi…I still can’t see the onedrive links…are you still working to repair them? Otherwise can you please attach them here with the article?

    Like

  5. Hi, unfortunately I lost all my onedrive contents to the blog. I suggest trying the following:

    – There are posts with similar solutions you could try on of them, e.g.: http://www.explorecrm.is/installing-crm-developer-tools-into-visual-studio-2015/

    – I’ve simplified the steps originally mentioned in https://community.dynamics.com/crm/b/tsgrdcrmblog/archive/2014/08/23/microsoft-dynamics-crm-2013-toolkit-with-visual-studio-2013, you could try this one as a basis to get this working on 2015, the logic of the changes to make is the same.

    Like

Leave a comment